Thirteen Tigers all set for Wollongong XC Nationals

Athletics ACT will be sending a strong team of 71 athletes to the 2017 Australian Cross Country Championships. This event will take place in Wollongong on the 26th August. This is Athletics ACT’s largest team ever represented at these championships, in recent memory.

The UC Tigers have 13 representatives which is up on the 9 athletes who competed at the combined National Cross Country Championships in 2016.

Among the athletes selected is 2016 Bronze Medalist Annika Wise as well as Club Record Holders Lily Anderson, James Lemon, Michael Daly, Chris Hamer, Jacob Davill, Jordan King and Joshua Johnson.

They are joined on the team by experienced National finalists Mitch Braithwaite, Angela Riach, Hayden Todd and Jacob Todd. Representing  the Territory for the first time is UC’s James Watkins who medaled at the Club’s inaugural Cross Country Championship this winter.

  1. Annika Wise (U16W – 4km)
  2. Angela Riach (U18W – 4km)
  3. Lillian Anderson (Open W – 10km)
  4. James Lemon (U14M – 4km)
  5. Hayden Todd (U14M – 4km)
  6. Jacob Davill (U16M – 4km)
  7. Jacob Todd (U16M – 4km)
  8. James Watkins (U16M – 4km)
  9. Jordan King (U18M – 6km)
  10. Mitchell Braithwaite (U20M – 8km)
  11. Michael Daly (Open M – 10km)
  12. Chris Hamer (Open M – 10km)
  13. Joshua Johnson (Open M – 10km)

Ginninderra’s Little Athletes are represented this year by:

  • Hannah Cadden (U16W- 4km)
  • Layla Rowntree (U16W – 4km)

Congratulations to everyone selected and best of luck to the entire Athletics ACT team.

The Club is still attempting to get confirmation of the School Sport ACT Cross Country team to attend the National Schools Cross Country in Hobart Tasmania from the 11th to the 15th of August 2017.

Among the results from the ACT Schools Championships the following Ginninderra athletes finished in the top five in their respective age groups:

  • Mitch Braithwaite (U18M)
  • Angela Riach (U17W)
  • Mitch Baker (U17M)
  • Jordan King (U17M)
  • Hannah Cadden (U16W)
  • Layla Rowntree (U16W)
  • Annika Wise (U16W)
  • Jacob Davill (U16M)
  • Jacob Todd (U16M)
  • James Lemon (U14M)
  • Chelsea Moroney (12G)
  • Noah Steinacker (12G)
  • Hayden Todd (12B)
  • Ryan Cuzner (11B)
  • Andrew Camp-Liddiard (11B)
  • Chloe Smith (11G)
  • Sally Walker (11G)
  • Lucas Davill (9B)
  • Claudia Todd (9G)
  • Maya McRae (8G)

For more information including the Full Results check: